SFL teams celebrate first Pride Round

7 June 2023|Community News, Sport| Off Comments off on SFL teams celebrate first Pride Round|

THE SFL and SFLW celebrated their inaugural Pride Round from 26-28 May, with players across all six divisions of the men’s and women’s competitions helping spread a message of inclusivity and respect

to LGBTIQ+ people and their families involved in football.

It is believed to be the first time a major Australian football competition has conducted a Pride Round across its entire competition.

All home teams were given rainbow socks to wear in their games. Field and boundary umpires wore rainbow wrist bands, while goal umpires used rainbow goal flags and wore rainbow beanies.

The SFL also organised sessions with support and education service Working it Out designed to help players, officials and clubs to create inclusive and safe environments for all; and the league’s LGBTIQ+ Inclusive Practices in Sport training will show officials, players and volunteers how to make the sport more inclusive for LGBTIQ+ individuals and communities.

Cam Hooker from Dodges Ferry and Bailey Bester from Claremont fronted the media to promote their Pride Round clash at Shark Park on May 27, which Dodges Ferry went on to win by 36 points.

The Sharks jumped out to an early lead and cruised to a 18.13 (121) to 13.7 (85) victory that saw them leapfrog the Two Blues on the SFL ladder.

Ben McGuinness starred with seven goals for the winners, while Cam Hooker chipped in with five.

Huonville (13.15 93) defeated Brighton (9.9 63) by five goals in the weekend’s only other SFL Seniors game. New Norfolk’s away match against Cygnet was cancelled, with New Norfolk citing a long list of injuries and COVID cases for its inability to field seniors and reserves teams.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Glenorchy Gazette

The Glenorchy Gazette is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in the Glenorchy municipality. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top