Intercultural cricket tournament a ‘fantastic success’

IT was a fairytale finish for the IC Crusaders when they clinched their grand final win at the Intercultural Sports League’s inaugural 20/20 cricket tournament.

The Crusaders defeated the Van Diemen Devils by eight wickets in the final clash, with Rajinder Badesha named ‘Man of the Match’ and Gagan Singh named ‘Man of the Series’.

Tasmanian Labor Senator Carol Brown, who has been a strong supporter of the League since it formed last year, presented the trophies and medals to the winning team players and runners-up.

Senator Brown said the 20/20 tournament had been a “fantastic success.”

“The League is committed to multiculturalism and it brought together six teams of players from Indian, Pakistani, Nepalese, Bangladeshi and Australian backgrounds,” she said.

“The 20/20 cricket tournament promoted multiculturalism through sport, and I was overwhelmed by the player’s passion, drive and enthusiamsm.

“The League is keen to branch out into other sports and is already involved in promoting netball, holding coaching clinics and a tournament, which began last year.”

Intercultural Sports League president Raj Chopra, who is also a member of the Glenorchy City Council Cultural Diversity Committee, said he was thankful for the local community’s support.

“We want people to be a part of the Intercultural Sports League and help us bridge gaps and bring commnunities together,” he said.

“The League is committed to venturing into different sports such as hockey and Australian Rules Football in the future.”

The 20/20 cricket tournament was supported by Cricket Tasmania and sponsored by the Royal Gurkhas Institute of Technology, among other individuals and organisations.

Caption: Senator Carol Brown presents trophies to the winners of the Intercultural Sports League’s 20/20 winning team.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Glenorchy Gazette

The Glenorchy Gazette is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in the Glenorchy municipality. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top