Glenorchy cricket legends recognised

3 December 2019|Sport| Off Comments off on Glenorchy cricket legends recognised|

NEXT season will prove a milestone occasion for the Glenorchy Cricket Club as it ushers in 90 years of representing the greater northern suburbs community in Tasmania’s Premier Cricket League.

Past players gathered at the club in November to celebrate the club’s history, as well as the club legends that represent the annual club awards.

Club legend Kel Cobern knows all too well the history of the club as he played for Glenorchy from 1959 to 1982.

Mr Cobern keeps in contact with the club today and has generously donated his time and money for the inaugural Glenorchy Cricket Club Youth Awards for boys and girls under 17 years of age.

Mr Cobern and the club have established a youth award criterion that not only measures performance on the field, but is also based around respect shown around the club – for teammates, opposition and umpires.

As a highly respected player and valued mentor during and post his career, Mr Cobern said it was great to support the club that played a major role in his life.

“Glenorchy produced many top-line cricketers who played for their state, country and also cared deeply for their local Glenorchy Cricket Club,” he said.

“It is great to see the top-level cricket clubs like Glenorchy catering for our youth, both the boys and girls of our community, and I am pleased to contribute in a small way.”

Other club legends recognised that represent key club awards included:


Noel Diprose – Noel Diprose Medal, representing the Club Champion Award and played for the club between 1939 and 1962 taking an incredible 762 wickets for the club at an average of 13.49.

Chris Broadby – Chris Broadby Medal, representing the lower Grades Club Champion and played for the club between 1975 and 1992, being recognised as one of Tasmanians best ever spin bowlers.

Ian James – Ian James Family and Best Clubman Award. Ian played for the club from 1965 until 1995 and is the club’s team of the century allrounder.

Brian Eade – Brian Eade Cup awarded to the annual winner of the Glenorchy vs New Town game. Brian represented both clubs from the sixties through to the eighties.

Emmerson Rodwell – representing the Cricket Tasmania Premier League Best Player Award. Emmerson played an incredible 26 years from 1964, represented Tasmania and is recognised as one of the best cricketers Tasmania ever produced.


Former players also enjoyed a speech from club first-grade coach, Tasmanian and Australian representative Brett Geeves.

This culminated in a day of reminiscence at the Glenorchy Cricket Club, which is located at the KGV oval precinct in Anfield Street.

Caption: Kel Cobern being congratulated by the Glenorchy Cricket Club director of cricket operations Simon Stebbings.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Glenorchy Gazette

The Glenorchy Gazette is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in the Glenorchy municipality. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top