Cripps Waratah wins fourth club championship

Cripps Waratah wins fourth club championship

SOME of netball’s highest achievers have been honoured at the Southern Tasmania Netball Association (STNA) Awards.

Held in late August, the 23rd annual awards celebrated STNA players and members who have gone above and beyond their call of duty in service of the game.

In addition to the graduation of junior leaders, the event saw 12 outstanding 14 to 16-year-olds presented with their course completion certificates, with the biggest prize on offer being the Elise Archer Club Championship.

Cripps Waratah took out the club championship shield following a six-point lead over St Lukes Karana in Round 18, before holding onto the lead in the last two rounds to win by 14 points.

STNA general manager Phillip Stoneman said by winning the 23rd club championship, Cripps Waratah joined St Lukes Karana and Glendon Kingston Blues as four-time winners of the shield.

“The club championship is a fantastic award and every member of every club needs to contribute to win the shield,” he said.

“The weekly updates of the leader board get a lot of attention with so many different clubs able to excel throughout the season.”

Speaker of the House of Assembly and Liberal Member for Denison Elise Archer said she was pleased to support the STNA as its 50th anniversary patron and club championship sponsor.

“The STNA Awards continue to encourage participation, team leadership and health and wellbeing, particularly among girls and young women,” she said.

“Congratulations to all of this year’s winners and I look forward to continuing my involvement in the 2017 season.”

Caption: From left, Speaker of the House of Assembly and Liberal Member for Denison Elise Archer, Cripps Waratah coaching convenor Narelle Monk and Cripps Waratah president Ian Langford with the Elise Archer Club Championship Shield.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Glenorchy Gazette

The Glenorchy Gazette is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in the Glenorchy municipality. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top