A great innings: Hobart Summer Baseball League 2015/16 comes to an end

By David Searle*

THE Dragons are champions of the Hobart Summer Baseball League for 2015/16 after defeating the Banjo’s Orioles 11-2 in the grand final, which was played on Sunday 6 March.

In front of a huge crowd the contest was tight early with the Dragons leading narrowly 3-0 after four innings.

During this period the Dragons’ Tim Holland was as dominant as has been in the league, only allowing one hit and striking out seven.

Jimmy Clout was not far behind him, only allowing three hits and also striking out seven, but it was walks allowed that ultimately proved crucial.

The Orioles stormed back into the contest with two runs in the top of the fifth innings. Beau McNeil and Chris Chalker drove in the runs, but they were held scoreless thereafter by the Dragons’ relief pitcher, Brendan Adams.

Slowly but surely, the Dragons’ experience and powerful batting line-up got on top, scoring eight runs in three innings, with Dean Chamberlain and Shane Davies coming to the fore by driving in two runs each in the bottom of the seventh.

A hit batter and a one out walk gave some hope for the Orioles in the top of the eighth, but a double play ended the threat and the Dragons were champions.

Tim Holland won the President’s Medal for Most Valuable Player of the final, while Adam de Cotter and Brendan Adams accepted the Hubble Edwards Shield on behalf of the Dragons.

Congratulations to the Dragons on a great season and a well-deserved victory.

A special mention must also be given to the Banjo’s Orioles.

Under the guidance of Chris Chalker, Shane Bromfield, Jamie McIntyre and Linton Burgess, and for a team made up of mostly first-year players, the Orioles did an amazing job to reach the grand final in their first season.

Thank you to all those players that participated in the 2015/16 season, to all their families and our dedicated supporters.

On behalf of Baseball Tasmania I would like to extend our thanks to our sponsors, Raine and Horne Real Estate Hobart, Fish Focus Consulting and Vantage Hotels.

I would also like to thank our team sponsors, Hotel Soho, Banjo’s, Techquity, Kennedy Bros Painting, KFC, Claremont Hotel, Haymes Paints Ballarat, Bennetto Finance and Park Hotel Bistro Ballarat.

Thank you to Tas Keno for a generous donation, Southern Softball for ongoing support, Glenorchy City Council for the ground preparation and ongoing support of baseball in Hobart, Sinclair’s Health and Fitness for discounted provision of gear, Corporate Communications for continuing support through the Eastern Shore Sun, Glenorchy Gazette and Hobart Observer, and Naomi Searle for her tireless work taking photos throughout the season.

We are looking forward to the 2016/17 season with the prospect of even further expansion.

For more information about Baseball Tasmania contact us via our website at www.baseballtasmania.com, our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/HSBLTAS or by calling 0468 927 363.

*David Searle is the president of Baseball Tasmania.

Caption: The 2015/16 Hobart Summer Baseball League champions, the Dragons. Back row from left, Ross Peters, Adam de Cotter, Dean Chamberlain, Paul Johns, Aaron Jarvis, Tim Holland, Rhys Watts, centre row, from left, Brendan Adams, Kay Hong, Shane Davies, Leigh Johns, Riley Schmidt, and front row, from left, Lena Hong, Bree de Cotter and Molly Carr. Photo credit: Naomi Searle.

Enjoy this story? Share it!

About the Author: Glenorchy Gazette

The Glenorchy Gazette is your monthly community newspaper, reaching over 24,000 homes and businesses in the Glenorchy municipality. It is the product of Nicolas Turner, Justine Brazil, Ben Hope, Simon Andrews, Tobias Hinds and guest contributors, with support from advertisers.

What’s new?

Go to Top